Apple Mug Muffis

AMM

Apple Mug Muffin by Civilized Cave Man Cooking

The name of the website should have been a giveaway. But I won’t digress. I discovered this recipe on pinterest, of course. Pinterest will be my doom, one day. *Update* Looking back I definitely feel like this type of recipe is overrated. I see them pop up everywhere, even in my Yahoo! news feed. Generally, I think the idea of it being super easy to do is misleading because every time I’ve tried one they taste like rubber and I’m far from being a newbie or bad baker.


Apple Mug Muffin
Prep time: 5 mins
Cook time: ~1 min
Total time: ~6 mins
Serves: 1
Ingredients
Muffin
  • 1 tablespoon grass fed butter (or coconut oil)
  • 2 tablespoon unsweetened applesauce (50 grams)
  • 1 egg (61 grams)
  • 1/4 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1 teaspoon maple syrup (10 grams)
  • 3 tablespoons almond flour (24 grams) or 2 tablespoons coconut flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/8 teaspoon baking powder (homemade)
  • Pinch of salt
Streusel Topping
  • 1 tablespoon apple, finely chopped
  • pinch of crumbled walnuts
  • pinch of cold butter
 20150403_071222
Instructions
Muffin (Microwave)
  1. Melt the butter in a microwave safe mug on lower power.
  2. Whisk in the applesauce, egg, vanilla and maple syrup until well combined
  3. Add almond meal, cinnamon, baking powder, and salt and stir for about 30 seconds.

20150403_071231

4. Add streusel topping (optional) and microwave for 1 minute, 10 seconds
5. Let cool for a few minutes and enjoy!

Streusel Topping
  1. Combine using your fingertips, then sprinkle on top before microwaving

20150403_071421

^ After 1:10 in the microwave

20150403_072003 20150403_072011

^Still quite qoopy 😦

20150403_072043

^Back in the microwave for 30 more seconds

20150403_072115

^Oh, this still doesn’t look good :/

20150403_072307

OK, so the one on the right looks way better^

20150403_072312

^Even after I added the walnuts, this muffin still looks sad.

I did NOT like this at all. It thought it was bland and had the consistency of wet scrambled eggs.

20150403_072458

My Daughter, however, loved hers and even wanted to put maple syrup on it like an odd pancake. I should add that my daughter isn’t a picky eater, she’s up for trying anything – doesn’t mean she likes everything she eats, but at least she gives it a shot. This she loved.


So the verdict is divided. I thought this was a fail and my daughter thought it was a success.

Xoxo,

Megan

PS. Here’s a picture of some really cute cats

cool-cat-for-you

See It, Pin It, Do It, Blog It

11 thoughts on “Apple Mug Muffis

  1. Lololol pinterest and fail. I had to read this asap!!! They look better than I thought they would!! That silly pinterest has a way of sucking us in and thinking its a miracle recipe/craft/diy but sadly it’s 50/50 for my success/fails. Maybe even a teeny bit more to the fail side… Lol

    Love that your daughter wanted it with maple syrup! How cute!
    And those cats!! Are they yours?!!!
    Either way adorb!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, my daughter is good at cute lol. No, not my cats, I like to add some cute photo or meme to the end of my blog posts, I’m considering it as my “signature style” if that makes sense 🙂

      Like

Let me know what you think about this post...

