Easter Goodies & Good Eats

2

Yay, it’s almost Easter. The part of Easter that is more commonly known is what kids love most:

“In addition to Easter’s religious significance, it also has a commercial side, evidenced by the mounds of jelly beans and marshmallow chicks that appear in stores each spring. As with Christmas, over the centuries various folk customs and pagan traditions, including Easter eggs, bunnies, baskets and candy, have become a standard part of this holy holiday.”

But I want to focus this post on celebrating the occasion with goodies and good eats. Each family has their way of passing on the history of this day and teaching new traditions.  If you’re like me then you haven’t done this too many times since entering the adult world.  After I graduated I joined the military and didn’t have the opportunity to spend all my holidays at home. Then I was in college and my husband didn’t push for over the top celebrations from me so I could focus on my studies. Now my daughter is getting older and I wanted to start putting more effort in.

Last year we used the following recipes and they were a crowd pleasing sensation! To get the recipe, simply click on each photo. (I don’t have any photos of last years get together or the food, so I used the provided photos, but trust me, if you can read directions – you can do this)


Brunch

Mimosas

header-mimosas

8 ounces orange juice
Dry Champagne
2 ounces Triple Sec or other orange liqueur
4 curls orange peel

I drink these year round! Nothing gets in the way of me and a mimosa. Feeling creative? Add some cranberry or pineapple. You can’t go wrong and you adult guests will thank you.

Cinnamon-Bun Bites

glazed-cinnamon-bun-mld108157_vert

Hungry yet? This can easily be prepared the night before – just wrap tightly in saran and bake it the following morning if you want. It was even yummier than the photo suggests! Another tip that I got from someone else who made this as well is to put a tray under your casserole dish as it might spill over.

Oven Browns

brunch-mld108157_vert

I haven’t made these before, but since I want to do a brunch this year this recipe looked super simple and I love diced potatoes!

Honey-Ricotta Turnovers

med105471_0410_ricotta_turnover_vert

This is the only other new thing with the potatoes that’s on the list. Can you tell I like my carbs yet? I figured something sweet would compliment the mimosas best. And the carbs….well I wouldn’t want anyone who is enjoying those mimosas too much to get sick 😉 Yummy and helpful.


Dinner

Glazed Ham

185115_163442510455901_1753855612_n

The Ham turned out so juicy and delicious! I’m definitely looking forward to it. Some families cook lamb, chicken, or a dozen other Ham flavors, I’ve had Pineapple Glazed Ham before and that was good too. But this one is our fave.

There was also ample leftovers which turn out to make the best ham sandwiches!

Creamy Bibb & Herb Salad

Capture

With all the food that gets passed around during any gathering I like to also have something light, makes my body feel good to eat something crisp and fresh.

8 Ingredients, 2 simple steps. You won’t regret it and you’re guests will surely thank you.

Classic Deviled Eggs

CI0103_Classic-Deviled-Eggs.jpg.rend.sni12col.landscape

All those leftover eggs from decorating are certainly going to make some colorful deviled eggs! The kids gravitate toward the deviled eggs every time I make them.  But with the splash of color that Easter brings to them, I don’t think I’ll be able to keep the tray stocked long.

Smashed Red Potatoes

3

Ham and Potatoes…doesn’t that sound like a great pairing? I’m getting really hungry sitting here thinking about making this next week. This recipe is unique from traditional smashed red potatoes because instead of sour cream it uses Crème Fraîche, which is less sour. Where I live, Trader Joes and Whole Foods sells it.

Crème fraîche is a soured cream containing 30–45% butterfat and having a pH of around 4.5. It is soured with bacterial culture, but is less sour than U.S.-style sour cream, and has a lower viscosity and a higher fat content


Dessert

Easter Bunny Cake

47bc8869-79ca-4b9d-a12e-4783cf8bc08a

This is adorable!!! Amiright?! Yes, I’m right. And it’s not even remotely difficult to replicate! The “hare” is made of a round cake, halved and stood on it’s side, iced then covered in shredded coconut. You could even have fun with the cake and color the mix with a food dye. I buy the carrot cake that the recipe recommends because ‘what is a bunny with the carrots?’ haha.

Xoxo,

Megan

easter

See It, Pin It, Do It, Blog It

A Fresh Start
19 thoughts on “Easter Goodies & Good Eats

  1. Delish. !!!! I am now starved!! Those cinnabites look to die for! And the bunny cake I think I could actually pull off! I’m a sucker for a theme, go big or go home with the bunnies :)) hehe

    Like

  2. WOW! This looks like a GREAT brunch! Between the Mimosa’s and the delicious looking cinnamon bites and potatoes! This post is making me hungry! Thanks for sharing looks like you will be more than well prepared for Easter!

    Liked by 1 person

Let me know what you think about this post...

