Un-Beauty Feature

My skin is far from great. Who’s never said that before, aimiright?! 

Years of acne have speckled my face and a lifetime of either very dry or very oily skin. Though, I’m far more comfortable going make up free now than I was in my early 20’s. I think it’s a combination of not caring what other people think of my looks and I really don’t feel like spending 30 minutes in front of the mirror looking at myself.  Ugh and all that hand washing has really tortured my poor hands.

(Side note: Deeply- Hydrating Lubriderm for extra dry skin has been a saving grace. I mean, come on…Wash your hands before you wash your face, wash you hands after applying make-up, wash your hands before and after food prep, wash your hands after you use the restroom. You get the picture.)

Back to my point….my routine is more about covering my “flaws” when I want to look fresh and slightly touched up than it is about looking glamorous.

I’ll start with my favorite routines and/or products.


GlamGlow Super-Mud Clearing Treatment $69

fb09d1b9063895378a4966b28fb5a36f

Definitely worth the splurge. I usually pick this up at Sephora, they carry the whole line of GlamGlow masks. No other masks has ever worked as well as this, on me. I can usually get about 10 full facials out of one jar or you can use for spot treatments. That works out to be about $7 a facial. HELLLOOOO, awesome. This along with the soap I use daily to clean my face has definitely helped balance out my skin tone and prevent break outs! Just apply a thin layer with your fingers and let it set. It usually takes about 20 minutes for it to “dry”. And I say it like that because the masks absorbs the oils in the skin and may look like it never fully dried.

20141017_210325

I am certainly not ashamed to share my photo here. Though I would definitely wear contacts in the future, it was quite a mess to clean my glasses. I definitely recommend washing this off with warm water, a wash cloth, and a lot of gentle scrubbing.

Lush ‘Sexy Peel’ Soap ~ $6 for 3 ounces.

sexy peel

This soap is freaking magical! I’m fairly positive the citrus aspect of this soap is what works so well on my skin type (combination). On a daily basis this is what I lather my face up with. If I’m feeling extra gross that day I’ll lather up with this and scrub with my Clarisonic and it feels like I’ve taken a lifetime of dead skin off. I love it!

It’s because of the mask and this soap that I ever feel confident enough to go outside sans make-up.

Clinique Moisture Surge Extended Thirst Relief $52 for 2.5 oz

s1084821-main-hero-300

The mother of light moisturizer…it doesn’t feel heavy or leave a greasy residue on my skin. I started moisturizing in my early 20’s to prevent the early on set of wrinkles and I’m so glad I did! I’ll be 30 next year and my skin feels better now than it did when I was 17. I apply this after each face wash even though the product is described as giving the skin 24 hours of hydration because I wash my face in the morning and at night.


For Long Lasting Make-Up:

Dermablend

I honestly don’t remember what I did before I discovered dermablend. Don’t take my word for it. Check out this VIDEO. My jaw dropped when I watched it. Watch it, become a believer, enough said hahaha.

SettingPowder_Original

I have very fair skin and I can never find a shade that doesn’t make a ring around my neck no matter how much a blend, so I mix my dermablend with my Clinique ‘Linen’ face tint. The dermablend is great for long-lasting coverage but I will still set it with their loose setting powder in original with my Eco Tools Powder Brush. I don’t apply this around my eyes because it tends to build up in my under eye circles/ wrinkles. Wrinkles is such an evil word, I’m only 29, but it’s a fact that I’ve had wrinkles under my eyes for as long as I can remember. I’ve worn glasses since 3rd grade and I’m always squinting. Habit.

Then, if I know I’m going to be out all day and won’t have the opportunity to touch up I will set with Urban Decay ‘All Nighter setting spray as well. My make-up isn’t going anywhere!

s1458173-main-hero-300


I didn’t really want to discuss specific make-up products that I use to glam up because we all have different preferences, wear make up differently for different occasions, and our skin reacts differently to different products. Maybe in the future if I try something life changing I will.

Did I say ‘different’ enough? Yes, we all get glamorous in our own way 🙂

Have you tried any of these products before?

See It, Pin It, Do It, Blog It

13 thoughts on “Un-Beauty Feature

  1. That face mask photo speaks to me. What better to do than take lots of selfies, when there’s great mud on your face? Thanks for all the great advice 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great tips! I haven’t tried these products, but I’m intrigued by the GlamGlow Mask! I’ve always had problem skin and love finding new products.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I LOVE the Clinique Moisture Surge. I definitely have combination skin and during the winter months, parts of my face is super dry while other parts are oily. This has helped so much. Thanks for the wonderful post. I will look at the other items!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I hope it works as good for you as it does for me if you choose to try it. As with everything I use on my face, I did some research about it and it’s sister products. So if you’re considering it for yourself, try the same. If you try it, let me know how it worked for you too 🙂

      Like

    • Facial skin is such a fickle thing! I would always try things that others recommended and was so sad when none of it ever worked as well for me as it did for them. I hope you are able to find what works for you and hope maybe one of the products I mentioned helps. Let me know what you think, good or bad, if you decided to try any of it 🙂

      Like

  4. Love it!! I’m always debating whether or not to toss glam glow into my basket at sephora. I’ve heard sooo much hype about it so I think I will have to next shopping trip!! Love Clinique moisture surge!! Haven’t tried the others. Will add to my do-to list 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Let me know what you think about this post...

